1. As Sunlight Falls 1 (Graham) – Mark Graham, voice and strings; Alex Che, textures


2. Drive (Che, A. Keeling, Jackson) – Alex Che, voice; Andrew Keeling, classical guitar/loops; David Jackson, saxes; Brian Taylor, textures


3. Pip, Squeak and Wilfred 1 (Graham, Che, Hewitt, Fisher-Jones) - Mark Graham, voice, Casio synth; Alex Che, voice, ambience; Cliff Hewitt - drums; Noko 440, viola and string arrangement; Andrew Keeling, flute


4. Guano Junction 3 (Graham, Hewitt) – Mark Graham, synthesizers; Andrew Keeling, flute; Cliff Hewitt, drums and arrangement


5. Evergreen (Che, A. Keeling) – Alex Che, voice, string synthesizer; Andrew Keeling, classical guitar/loops


6. As Sunlight Falls 2 (Odriozola) – Ricardo Odriozola, violins


7. Vista de Toledo (Che, A. Keeling) – Alex Che, voice; Andrew Keeling, classical guitar/loops


8. Guano Junction 2 (Graham, Jackson) – Mark Graham, synthesizers; David Jackson, saxes; Brian Taylor, electric guitar; René van Commenée, drums and percussion


9. Wednesday Afternoon (Che, A. Keeling, Taylor) – Alex Che, voice, electric synthesizers, drum programming, arrangement; Andrew Keeling, classical guitar/loops; Brian Taylor, classical guitar texture


10. SHAVE! (B. Keeling, R van Commenée) – Ben Keeling, electric guitars/loops, devices; René van Commenée, drums/percussion; Andrew Keeling, ghost voices; Mark Graham, gongs and rain stick; Brian Taylor, textures


11. Winter Hill (Che, A. Keeling) – Alex Che, voices; Andrew Keeling, piano; Brian Taylor, textures


12. Dark Skies (A. Keeling, Che) – Alex Che, voice and textures; Andrew Keeling, classical guitar/loops, organ; Martin Walker, electric guitar


13. Pip, Squeak and Wilfred 2 (Graham, Che, Hewitt, Fisher-Jones) - Mark Graham, voice; Alex Che, voice; Cliff Hewitt, arrangement; Noko 440, viola and string arrangement; Andrew Keeling, flute


Mark and Andrew would like to thank all the musicians who contributed to and appeared on Guano Junction.


Mark Graham – voice, synthesizers

Andrew Keeling – classical guitars, flute, piano, organ

Alex Che – voices, synthesizers, electric guitars

Cliff Hewitt – drums, percussion

René van Commenée – drums, percussion

David Jackson – saxes

Ricardo Odriozola - violins

Ben Keeling – electric guitar, devices

Martin Walker – electric guitar

Brian Taylor – electric guitar and textures

Noko 440 - viola and string arrangements


Mixed by Mark Graham with additional mixing by Alex Che and Cliff Hewitt

Recorded throughout the UK, Ireland, The Netherlands and Norway

Nylon-string guitars recorded by Dave Cottrell at Studio 410, Ormskirk, UK

Ricardo Odriozola's violin was recorded at the Gunnar Sævigsal in the Grieg Academy, Bergen on April 21st 2021. Engineer, Davide Bertolini.


Produced by the Gong Farmers

Mastered by Steve Penn


Sleeve design by Carl Glover/Aleph Studio

Original artwork by Sue Keeling


Copyright, Spaceward Records, 2021


The Gong Farmers are principally two musicians, Mark Graham and Andrew Keeling, along with friends and colleagues. Formed in 2018 following a visit to an Irish castle, the band name was suggested by reading about the activities of the medieval gong farmers. Released in 2019 by Spaceward Records, their debut, Ship of Fools, garnered praise from such magazines as RnR who wrote, ‘Scarily impressive. Gong Farmers are heads ahead of most.’


From 2020 – ’21 the band worked on a second album, Guano Junction, continuing both the connective thematic elements and themes of love and loss heard on Ship of Fools yet exploring darker areas of musical and human experience. Featuring David Jackson (Van der Graaf Generator), Alex Che (Modern Eon, Che), Cliff Hewitt (Modern Eon, Apollo 440), Noko 440 (Apollo 440), Martin Walker (Nth Ascension, Thruaglas Darkly), Brian Taylor (This Is Awkward, Thruaglas Darkly) and others, Guano Junction is released by Spaceward Records on November 5th, 2021.


"A beautifully put-together and subtly varied album", Roots & Fusion.

Guano Junction - The Gong Farmers