Bells of Heaven


Andrew Keeling is a multi-faceted composer, whose works have been performed and broadcast throughout the world by musicians such as Dame Evelyn Glennie, the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra, Fretwork, Craig Ogden, Jacob Heringman and many others. His music has been released by DGM, Burning Shed, Metier, Riverrun, UHR and Spaceward. He is also a songwriter and improviser and has written, collaborated and released albums with musicians such as David Cross (King Crimson), Stephen Fellows (Comsat Angels) and Tim Bowness (No-Man). Andrew also has a particular interest in the music of King Crimson and has written three Musical Guides on the band's music as well as orchestrating the music of Robert Fripp. An album of these called Pie Jesu, performed by the Metropole Orchestra of Amsterdam, is projected for release in 2012. He has also been a lecturer at the University of Liverpool and the Royal Northern College of Music.

Bells of Heaven is the 'shadow' side of Andrew Keeling's activities as a composer. Although known for his contemporary classical music - his album Unquiet Earth (Spaceward Records) is released in June, 2012 - Keeling is also a composer of a quite different kind of music.


 1. Bells of Heaven
 2. Weak and Helpless
 3. Avarice
 4. Narcissus of Décor
 5. The Great Divides
 6. Otherworld
 7. Nostalgia
 8. Neurosis
 9. Twenty Turbines
 10. In the Pages of Mathilda


Andrew Keeling – acoustic, electric, classical and bass guitars, loops, flute, keyboards, percussion and drums, found objects and occasional vocals;
Stephen Fellows – electric guitar on Bells of Heaven (chimes and end solo) and Thanatos (top guitar) and vocals on Avarice;
Ed Hindmoor – electric guitar on Bells of Heaven;
Dave Cottrell – drums on Bells of Heaven, Weak and Helpless, Mathilda and Thanatos and keyboards on Neurosis;
Charlotte Dowding – violin on Avarice, Threnody and violin quartet on Twenty Turbines;
Jane Wilkinson – vocals on Bells of Heaven, Weak and Helpless, Narcissus of Décor, Otherworld, Neurosis and Mathilda;
Tim Bowness – vocals on The Great Divides and Twenty Turbines; Jacob Heringman – lute on Epiphany;
Susanna Pell – tenor viol on Narcissus of Décor and viol consort on Nostalgia;
Sarah Martin – narration on Weak and Helpless and Epiphany;
Iain Cameron – ambient textures.


Watch a video about the recording of Bells of Heaven here.

Bells of Heaven - Andrew Keeling and Otherworld